Tags

, ,

New Coke was introduced. There was an uproar, careers were ruined, the product was rolled back, and balance was restored to the universe. But that isn’t what I want to write about.
30 years ago today the Philadelphia PD with help from the FBI bombed the home of radical group MOVE. 60 houses were burned down, children were shot as they tried to escape the flames, Mayor Goode took full responsibility. There was no uproar, no careers were ruined, nobody was charged (let alone convicted), Goode was re-elected and balance has yet to be restored.
This same mentality latter led to the siege at Ruby Ridge and the massacre at Waco, among others. Murder under the color of authority leaves less of an impression than changing the formula of a soft drink. WTF? And I am supposed to be proud of my country? Yeah, I’ll get right on that.

–Posted from my mobile device

