Tags

, , ,

Tumblelog, you don’t hear that phrase much these days.  Mostly you don’t hear that term because micro-blog was a little more catchy.

To quote Wikipedia:

Microblogging is a broadcast medium in the form of blogging. A microblog differs from a traditional blog in that its content is typically smaller in both actual and aggregate file size. Microblogs “allow users to exchange small elements of content such as short sentences, individual images, or video links”. These small messages are sometimes called microposts.

I signed up for a Tumblr account the month that they went live, March 2007.  I liked the concept, I liked having a blog and a micro-blog as they served different purposes.

With the announcement that Yahoo was buying Tumblr, I scrambled to find the exit.  It seems that everything that Yahoo touches turns to poo.  How long did Flickr stagnate under Yahoo’s mis-management?

Yesterday I set up a second WordPress blog to be my microblog.  The nice thing is that there were only little problems importing my 1200 posts.  Youtube videos imported as links and mp3s didn’t import at all but other than that…

It isn’t clear what Yahoo’s plans for Tumblr are, but I had no hope that improvements would be on the list.  So Yahoo buys Tumblr, I move to WordPress, seems like a win/win and everyone is happy.

Link to my microblog.

