Tags

, , , ,

I had a rider from Craigslist set up to go, but I was getting weird vibes from him…so I backed out.  Then, as luck would have it, I was unable to line up another rider.

So after a long work day, I threw the dogs in the van and we pulled out of Berkeley at 10 PM.  We made it as far as Fernley NV that night where I had to stop for a four hour nap and we were on our way again.  Driving across I-80, Eastern Nevada was as picturesque as I have ever seen it.  We stopped shortly before the Utah border to let the dogs play in the snow, which they enjoyed as usual.  Then across Utah and into Wyoming.  When we were about half way across Wyoming the wind picked up and started blowing the snow.  Traffic would run over the blowing snow flattening it into black ice.  It was dark and going was slow.  There were numerous wrecks, mostly trucks, two spun out in front of me.  A hundred miles took over 3 hours, still we managed to make it a 1000 miles in 20 hours (including our nap).  We took another nap somewhere near Cheyenne.  After this 4 hour nap we were on the road long before sun up.  Driving through the dark with the wind and sliver moon was a really nice experience.  We eventually left Wyoming behind as we entered Nebraska.  Nebraska is long and it took most of the day.  As we were leaving I-80 to drop south toward I-70 it started to rain.  The rain would be our companion for three days, and i find it tiring to drive in the rain.

We got to Columbia in time for dinner Friday March 12.  I had driven 2000 miles in 40 hours by myself.  I was tired when I left home and still managed to pull it off.  I find it to be a good feeling to push the limits of endurance and win.  Spent the evening and left for the South the following morning.  Mike seemed happy to hit the road and we accepted the rain, as what else can you do?

We made it as far as Murfreesboro Tennesee that night where we got a room and relaxed.  Two nights sleep had me feeling almost normal again.  We got up the next morning and continued South.  We decided to drive straight through the night to get to our destination.  The next morning found us exploring the swamps of Southern Florida.  (continued soon)

