Tags

, ,

At noon today I take off for West Texas.  I have two riders going as far as Prescott AZ and another going to Ramah NM.  Then the dogs and I head on down to West Texas with a couple of stops along the way at Carlsbad Caverns NP and White Sands NM.  Our goal is Big Bend NP down on the Rio Grande.  Depending on how long we are entertained there, we may follow the border West into Arizona and to Organ Pipe NM and then home, or we may just head on back home.  Either way we are planning on being back by the 18th.

It will be interesting to see the future of the police state, for surely the border area is one.  What with check points and areas of the country “closed”.  Armed paramilitary patrols and the works.  It has been almost 15 years since I have been down there.  It was bad then and that was before all the hoopla of 9/11 and border security, minute men, etc…

I think it will be good to see what we are up against…since we let it happen there, how can it be stopped here?

Hopefully I don’t end up in a third world jail cell in Texas or Arizona.

How does the Hell’s Half Acre song go…

“If you’ve got long hair and hippy beads don’t get off the interstate.”

I know the local areas down there thrive on making examples of folks like me…let’s hope we come through unscathed.

