Tags

, ,

Last time I voted, I was made to feel utterly foolish.  It was Bill Clinton’s first term, I was excited, I had seen all the candidates, been to their rallies.  I saw Bush the elder, Clinton, Gore, and (almost got my ass kicked seeing) Quail.  (Come to think about it, I almost got beaten at the Bush rally too.)

Clinton promised hope, and like a sucker I bought into it.  I was not that young, but I was definitely overly optimistic in the process.  “We” beat Bush, it was heady times.  Excitement crackling in the air.

The day Clinton took office he bombed Iraq…I think it was like 2 hours into his regime.  I knew I had been made the fool of.  Clinton did nothing to bring hope to the nation–I seem to recall that it was Clinton that deregulated the banks.

So, 12 years later, along comes Obama, offering change.  Fool me once….  I was considering registering to vote for Obama, jury duty be damned…

Then along comes the economic crunch and the splurge debate.  Did Obama rise to the occasion, did he offer hope, could I tell him apart from the DC apparatchik?  No, no, and no.  He was very staid, he offered no change, he was a conventional Democrat to the core.

This is not change.  This is Democratic machine politics in its most traditional (and blighted) sense.  Obama had the opportunity to transcend politics, he failed to take it.

With Clinton, I spent 8 years feeling dirty.  Obama dropped the ball before I sullied myself with supporting him.  So I won’t vote again…and consequently, come January I won’t feel dirty.

Sure, some so-called progressives are excited, but they are deluded…there ain’t no change here…let them spend the next 8 years feeling dirty and used.

I made myself a promise 12 years ago.  I promised to never again vote for someone that I did not want to win.  I promised that if it came down to voting for the lesser of two evils, I would abstain.

This Saturday is the last day to register to vote in November.  It seems that once again, there is not a candidate that I can get behind.  Sure, I want Obama to beat McCain, but not enough to sully myself.

What is your take?

