Tags

, ,

My favorite southern rock band, the Drive-By Truckers have just released a new album called Brighter Than Creation’s Dark. It is put out by New West Records.

DBT has been my favorite band for some time now. Their song writing and capturing of American angst is second to none, and this album does not disappoint. Filled with 19 songs of pure southern rockin’ music, the loss of Jason Isbell did not detract from the music included on this album.

With three guitars, drums and a bass–DBT has its own characteristic sound. If you are familiar with DBT then you will recognize these songs as capturing something about life in America. As usual, DBT manages more character development in a three minute song than many writers capture in an entire novel. It is this character development that endears DBT to me. When you can’t outright self identify with a song, you can always relate the lyrics to someone you know. The music is mostly driven, the lyrics are sparse and leave you leaning forward to listen. These guys are doing more for the American soundtrack than any other band. Highly recommended.

From the song The Righteous Path:

I got a couple of opinions that I hold dear
A whole lot of debt and a whole lot of fear
I got an itch that needs scratching but it feels alright
I got the need to blow it out on Saturday night
I got a grill in the backyard and a case of beers
I got a boat that ain’t seen the water in years
More bills than money, I can do the math
I’m trying to keep focused on the righteous path

The Drive-By Truckers official site and their entry on Wikipedia.

Also an older video on google video for Bulldozers and Dirt.

Oh yeah, I’ve managed to end up with 2 copies of their newest album…if anyone wants the extra copy, leave me a comment.

