Tags

, ,

Only 12 more days until Vista is unleashed on the public. Will it be finished? If the average user experience is comparable to mine, MS is in deep doo doo. No amount of excuses and/or blame is going to be sufficient to keep MS out of hot water.

You know the spinning beach ball in the Mac? Well MS has implemented a similar feature. About half the time that I click on Computer or Documents or any explorer applet, the computer just stops–nothing happens. Click it again…nothing, click it again….nothing…. Huh? Click on control panel, let’s go see what error messages are being generated….BAM! Windows all pop open, every desperate click is turned into an open window. No rhyme, no reason…totally annoying.

Also, do you know anyone who does not use DIVX? I don’t. Still there is no DIVX codec for playback on Vista. If you install the old one, every time you navigate to a directory with a DIVX avi in it, the computer hangs. The “com surrogate” crashes repeatedly, you spend the next minutes trying to get a head of the error warnings.

All of the pretty eye candy in the world will not hide the fact that this is the buggiest Windows release since Win 95.

I just ordered a computer without an OS. Can I trust it to make Vista my primary OS? No way! The first thing I will do when the box arrives is put XP on it. XP for games and virtualization, Vista is too buggy for either. Next I will put Vista on a partition, I have hopes that I can at the least use it as a workstation (Dreamweaver, photoshop, Office…). Then finally I will put 64-bit Opensuse on it…my true workstation.

Sadly, I have been forced into the role of MS Apologist. But I don’t mind making excuses for beta software…hell, it is beta. But this is the final release of a $400 OS! Twelve days from now, the gloves come off and the excuses for this sad train wreck of an OS comes to an end. Come on MS, get it together. 5 years in the making….and this is the best you can do?

When Vista goes on sale in 12 days, I will do a clean install….I expect it to work…$400 is a lot of money! But I have no hope to match my expectations.

Too sad….

