Tags

, ,

Yesterday, I switched my last box over to linux…it took a while, but I have a good install.

A month ago, I deleted my Windows partition on my main desktop…put openSUSE 10.1 on it.  In the month since then I must have installed linux 100 times in attempting to get good solid installs on the rest of my boxes.

My Media Center has openSuse on it exclusively…I still have a fair amount of work to make it into a media center…but it seems to be coming together.

My laptop/tablet is dual boot openSuse/XP Tablet…I can live without the support for the tablet and pen, but the lack of usb support makes the need for dual boot.

I gave up on making the Mac Mini into a linux box and turned it into a file server.  I have a 1.4 GHz PPC mini and it sucks.  I spent more time trying to get a decent install of linux on this box than I did the other three boxes combined.  It is comical to hear mac nuts whining about Windows proprietary this or dell proprietary that…my response comes from Jesus:

And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye? Or how wilt thy say to thy brother, “Let me pull out the mote out of thine eye; and, behold, a beam is in thine own eye?” Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye. 
(from the book of Matthew)

Allow me to state something here that I have stated elsewhere.  There is a continuum, Linux is open hardware and open software; Windows is open hardware and closed software; and Macs are closed hardware and closed software.

Or, put another way:  Macs are the past, Windows is the present, and Linux is the future.

So the Mac keeps OS X on it, and becomes my file server.

Even though I have still to get my TV tuner working and I am still in need of a couple of pieces of hardware support, the transition is complete.

I had been attempting to use Linux off and on for years, all it took was a push from Microsoft’s poor implementation of WGA to get me over the edge.

Keep in mind that I never (well not since Win 9x) had malware, viri, or stability issues…I switched because MS forced me to by not allowing me to update a legal Windows install.  That coupled with all of the ads in Vista, was enough to slide me over the edge.

