Tags

, ,

I just ordered Xandros desktop deluxe 4. I am waiting for it to arrive so I can replace my vista beta 2 with it. Vista does seem to be a major update to XP, but it is evolutionary not revolutionary. Since I destroyed my XP install, and since Vista is not ready for prime time, I am going to replace my main desktop with Xandros.

What I would really like is something like Xandros for my Mac Mini (ppc). As a Win Power User, I find OSX too limiting. There is no fun in it, no (meaningful) tweaking, OSS requires X Windows to run….making it not worth the bother.

I tried Ubuntu, I tried Fedora Core, I tried Yellow Dog….none of these would support the graphics card in the Mac. Ugh…

Here I have a subset of hardware and still get no support…..

My question is, what is the value added of OS X? How is it better than XP or Xandros? I know that many love OS X, I just don’t know why. Many MacPhiles claim that if you tried OS X then you would understand. I’ve been trying it for a year, I don’t understand. It seems to me that these people are delusional…or stupid. Let’s give them the benefit of the doubt and call them delusional.

Can anyone tell me how OS X is better than Xandros or XP? And please do not compare OS X to Win9x. Most people who love their macs use reasons that have not been true in 10 years to justify why it is better….rubbish. Give me a reason.

